March 2- finches and more finches

About a week ago, I ran out of birdseed.  I went to Southern States to get some more of my standard “feeder’s select” mix, and discovered that a 40 pound bag of black sunflower seeds is about $10 less than a 40 pound bag of the mix.  So I got the straight seeds.  And in the past week, the finches have been going CRAZY!  Mostly goldfinches and purple finches (I just was on http://www.birds.cornell.edu/pfw/AboutBirdsandFeeding/finchIDtable.html making sure that they were indeed purple finches and not house finches, and I’m quite sure they are the former).  There’s been a cloud of finches all around the feeder, which I have been re-filling once per day (I could do it every 8 hours, but it would get pricey!).Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

