March 7- white stuff

 

 

Despite the rain and warmer temperatures yesterday afternoon, the snow remained thick and deep this morning. As soon as I could get the kids fed and out the door, I went for a nice long walk to enjoy the snowy landscape before the afternoon warmth turned everything back into slush.   First, I made for the sledding hill, which I hadn’t had a chance to visit yet this year.  Here’s one photo looking down from the top, and another one looking up from the bottom.

Image

Image

Then I tromped up to the top of high south, the highest point on our land, to take  this panorama photo.  The temperature was a little bit below freezing, and it was an absolutely delightful day for a walk in the woods.

Image

I spent the next hour or so just wandering here and there, enjoying the crunch of snow under my feet and the unusual visual novelty of this wintry morning, a week into the month of March.

Holly leaves, bright green against the snow:Image

Many many trees, mostly pine and cedar, came down in the storm, mostly because they weren’t able to shed the heavy wet snow as fast as it came down.  This tree must have uprooted just a day or so ago.Image

Bright orange fungus peeking out from under the snowImage

Eventually I made my way down to the creek, which I expected to be full from snowmelt, but as the temperatures were still just a couple degrees above freezing, it wasn’t running very high at this point.Image

Found some wood ear fungi on a dead branch.  Apparently they’re edible, but I didn’t know that when I was out there.  Next time I come across some, I’ll try cooking them up and see how they taste.Image

This one really did look like an ear.Image

I walked home through the Morningstar orchard, where, despite the recent snowstorm, the fruit trees are definitely starting to bud.  Just a few short weeks until they start flowering and leafing out!Image

Later in the afternoon, the roads were plowed and I drove to Louisa.  The road was semi-blocked in several places by downed trees.  It was quite a dramatic drive.  All over the county, hundreds (thousands?) of trees, again mostly pine and cedar trees were down.  It must have been terrifying to be out on the roads while all this was going on– it was crazy enough just driving to town a day later!Image

Leave a Reply

