July 3- more rain . . . and more chanterelles!

Well, after some pretty impressive downpours on Tuesday afternoon, it rained all night and then some more in the morning just for good measure.  When I stepped outside, here’s what I found:  chanterelles!  So many of them!  Little red ones!  Big orange ones!  They’re popping up by the dozen all over the woods around here.  I didn’t get the opportunity to range far from my house, but here’s what I saw within a couple hundred yards or so of my back door:

The cinnibar red chanterelles are not very big, but they are so incredibly prolific right now that it’s worth the effort to reach down with a knife and slice off the largest of the lot.Image

Ho ho ho so many chanterelles– they’re so bright egg-yolky yellow, they just call out to you “pick me! eat me!”Image

In the afternoon, once the rain finally stopped, my son Sami got in on the fun– that boy was ready to pick some chanterelles (and at dinnertime he was ready to eat some too)!Image

The intermittent creek behind my house was flowing with plenty of water.  We spent an enjoyable hour splashing around and playing “intrepid explorer” all up and down the creek.Image

Sami floating leaves in the green green forest.Image

Not sure what these plants are, but the remind me of the Taro plants that I used to plant in Hawaii when I was gardening with my brother.  They’re certainly enjoying all the rain.Image

As we ventured up through the creek, we discovered numerous springs in the side of the creekbed where cold clear rainwater came trickling out of underground grottoes.  Sami was especially fascinated by these subterranean ‘rivers.’Image

not to mention, there were dozens and dozens of little red chanterelles growing in the moss all along the side of the creek.  Image

As we explored, we found many of these little jelly mushrooms, which according to various guidebooks are called ochre club fungi, jelly cap, or just jelly babies.  I think I like “jelly babies” the best.   Like many of the gelatinous mushrooms, they fall into the broad category of mushrooms that are technically edible, but reportedly without much taste, and I’m certainly not too tempted to try them.Image

They are pretty cute, though.Image

When I got home, I cleaned off the day’s pickings.  Not bad, considering I never went more than a couple hundred yards from my door, and spent more time splashing around in the creek than actively searching for chanterelles.  Such beautiful, tasty treats!Image

3 responses to “July 3- more rain . . . and more chanterelles!

  1. The green arrowhead-shaped leaves are… arrowroot! I’ve heard you can eat the roots, but I never have.

  2. arrow arum? it’s native to Virginia
    Peltandra virginica

  3. I think it is Arrowhead, aka Duck Potato. Sagittaria latifolia. Tuber food for ducks but reportedly can be cooked and enjoyed by people as well. Nice photo of Jelly Babies!

Leave a Reply

